• Indian Spiritual & Religious Website
  • learn at easyhometutor.com education times
  • internship open at education times of easyhometutor.com for students with opportunity to become author
  • Free Wedding Vendor Registration
KARNATAKA University of Agricultural Sciences
University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore (State University)

{tab=About University}

University of Agricultural Sciences Official logo of University of Agricultural Sciences - Karnataka
Established in Year: 1964

The University of Agricultural Sciences was established through an Act (No. 22) by the then Mysore government in 1963. Although the university came into existence on August 21 1964, a journey into the broad-lands of history reveals it to be a much older institution. It would perhaps not be an exaggeration to say that the university was conceived way back in 1899 in the form of an experimental farm of 30 acres.

Following this, an agricultural school was established in 1913 and the farm itself occupied 202 acres. In fact today this very farm constitutes the Main Research Station of the university. Such were the humble beginnings that the university, as it stands today, is a tribute to the visionaries who founded it and those who nurtured it over the past several decades.

Genesis Milestone

1899 : Her Excellency Maharani Kempa Nanjammanni Vani Vilasa Sannidhiyavaru the Regent of Mysore donates 30 acres of land for Experimental Agricultural Station at Hebbal and appoints Dr Lehmann, German Scientist to initiate research on soil crop response with Laboratory in the Directorate of Agriculture.

1906 : Dr Leslie Coleman, Canadian Entomologist and Mycologist succeeds Dr Lehmann and served with missionary zeal for 25 years. Station gets 202 acres with 30 acres of wetland, receiving rainfall of 808 mm.

1913 : Sir M Vishveshwaraiah, the then Diwan of Mysore (1912-1919) plays key role to establish Mysore Agriculture residential School at Hebbal in 1913 and appoints Dr Leslie Coleman, the first Director of Agriculture, Mysore to also head the School to offer Licentiate in Agriculture (LAG) for 15 students a year.

1946 : Mr MA Srinivasan, Minister of Agriculture, took initiative to establish Agriculture College, Hebbal, for offering four year professional degree program in Agriculture affiliated to the University of Mysore.

1956 : Sri Kengal Hanumanthaiah, the Chief Minister, decided to construct a new building for Agriculture College, Foundation Stone laid on 25/Jan/1956.

1961 : GOI sets up Agricultural University Committee headed by Dr Ralph Cummings of Rockefeller Foundation which visits Hebbal Bangalore in June 1961 and submits favorable report for formation of Agricultural University at Hebbal.

1963 : The Government of Mysore headed by Sri S Nijalingappa, CM, in April 1963 decides to establish UAS along the lines of Land Grant College system of USA and passes the University of Agricultural Sciences Bill (Act No. 22) which receives assent of the President of India on 25th May 1963 to become the Law, and grants 1300 acres to Gandhi Krishi Vigjana Kendra Campus.

1964 : Government appoints Dr KC Naik, MSc, Ph.D (Bristol) as the first Vice Chancellor on 12th June 1964. The UAS inaugurated by Dr Zakir Hussain, the Vice President of India on 21st Aug 1964 in the presence of Mr Chester Bowles, US Ambassador to India and Sri S Nijalingappa, the CM.

1969 : Smt Indira Gandhi, the Prime Minister, inaugurates GKVK campus on the 12th July.

{tab=Courses Offered}

These programmes are of 4 years duration, have been spread over at seven different campuses of the university.
Campus College Degree offered Year of start
GKVK Campus, Bangalore College of Agriculture B.Sc (Agri)
B.Sc (Ag.MaCo)
B.Tech (Ag.Engg)
Mandya Campus College of Agriculture B.Sc (Agri) 1991
Shimoga Campus College of Agriculture B.Sc (Agri) 1990
Hassan Campus College of Agriculture B.Sc (Agri)
B.Tech(Food Sc)
Chintamani Campus College of Sericulture B.Sc (Seri) 1982
Mudigere Campus College of Horticulture B.Sc (Hort) 1972
Ponnampet Campus College of Forestry B.Sc (Forestry) 1985


The Master’s degree programmes are offered in the faculty of Agriculture, Horticulture, Sericulture, Agricultural Marketing Co-operation and Agricultural Engineering. The residential requirement is 2 years for Master’s degree programme.
Subject Year of Commencement Degree Awarded
Agricultural Entomology 1966-67 Master of Science (Agri)
Agricultural Extension * 1966-67 Master of Science (Agri)
Agricultural Microbiology 1966-67 Master of Science (Agri)
Plant Pathology 1966-67 Master of Science (Agri)
Soil Science & Agril.Chemistry 1966-67 Master of Science (Agri)
Agricultural Economics * 1968-69 Master of Science (Agri)
Horticulture 1971-72 Master of Science (Agri)
Agronomy 1973-74 Master of Science (Agri)
Genetics & Plant Breeding 1973-74 Master of Science (Agri)
Crop Physiology 1974-75 Master of Science (Agri)
Food Science & Nutrition 1975-76 Master of Science (Agri)
Agricultural Statistics 1975-76 Master of Science (Agri)
Plant Biochemistry 1976-77 Master of Science (Agri)
Seed Science & Technology 1976-77 Master of Science (Agri)
Floriculture 1976-77 Master of Science (Hort)
Olericulture 1976-77 Master of Science (Hort)
Plantation Crops 1976-77 Master of Science (Hort)
Pomology 1976-77 Master of Science (Hort)
Sericulture 1981-82 Master of Science (Seri.)
Soil & Water Conservation Engineering 1987-88 Master of Technology (Agricultural  Engineering)
Post Harvest Process & Food Engineering 1989-90 Master of Technology (Agricultural  Engineering)
Post Harvest Technology of Horticultural  Crops 1989-90 Master of Science (Hort)
Agril. Marketing & Cooperation * 1994-95 Master of Science (Agri)
Plant Biotechnology 1996-97 Master of Science (Agri)
Apiculture 1997-98 Master of Science (Agri)
Forestry 2001-02 Master of Science (Forestry)
Environmental Science 2007-08 Master of Science (Agri)
Agri. Business Management 2007-08 Master of Business Administration

The Bakery Training Unit, under the Directorate of Extension conduct the following training courses.

  • 14 weeks Certificate Course in Bakery Technology.

  • 2 and 4 weeks Bakery product preparation course for commercial development and self-employment.

  • One week course for selected professional.

  • 3 days Home bakery course for women.

  • Correspondence course to literate farmers is offered in paddy and scientific cultivation of Mulberry and Silk Rearing Sericulture.

{tab=Photo Gallery}


{tab=Contact Details}

University of Agricultural Sciences,
GKVK, Bangalore - 560 065

Ph: 080-23330984
Mob: 9448966901
E-mail: registrar (a) uasbangalore.edu.in

{tab=Official Website}

{modal url=http://www.uasbangalore.edu.in/}Click here{/modal} to visit official website of University of Agricultural Sciences



© 2011-16 My Higher Education. All rights reserved and are of their respective owners.